Photo

The House

Posted by Ashotep , 27 September 2011 · 211 views

This is the first story I have written in a long time.  I am a amateur and no Stephen King but I try.   It has a ghost and murder in it and I hope at least some of you will like it.

The House

written by Hilander

I'm running around trying to finish getting ready before my longtime boyfriend Mike gets here to pick me up.  We are getting married in the spring and about a month ago we decided to move in together.  We want to see if we can tolerate each other plus his lease is up next month.  Its one thing dating and another waking up next to someone listening to them fart.  Kind of takes the romance out of the air.

We have looked at several houses but most were way too expensive or we didn't like them.  Today we are looking at one that is located on a farm only a few miles from town.  I talked to one of the owners and she said her husbands mother lived there briefly but had died a couple of years ago and they didn't want it to sit empty any longer.
Mike pulled up in front of my mothers house and I was in such a hurry I met him at the front door.  We kissed, then got in his truck talking about how much we were looking forward to seeing this house.  It sounded perfect and the rent wasn't that bad.

We met the owners, Paul and Stacey, at a supermarket in our small town.  They were a older couple with graying hair and a nice disposition.  We talked for a minute before Paul said we should get going before it rains.  We got back in our vehicles and drove down the highway about 3 miles when we came to a gravel road that we turned off on.  We followed them up the long winding road that had trees and underbrush growing along side of it.  I told Mike we would have to repair the pot holes in the road as he hit another one.