Photo

"Watch The Cosmos!"

Posted by _Only , 03 August 2012 · 508 views

I have a bad memory. Okay, I have a shockingly scary degree of an awful memory. I can only dig up various snapshots of my past and build from there to remember less than major events in my life. Even the major events are foggy. And even a day yesterday or the day before almost completely leaves my memory when I wake up the next morning. It scares me, but it it's just how it is.

Which makes it a rare occurrence when I remember a moment in my life in anything more than a vague, still snapshot. And even more odd when the moment was a seemingly random, meaningless moment for so many years. This was my moment.

I was messing around with my friend Mike on the tennis courts during P.E. at high school. I remember we and the class were playing some kind of game of catch in pairs, throwing something to and from each other. I remember that Mike and I were having a lot of fun at the moment, joking around and just letting it all hang out. I saw our P.E. teacher come up looking coy as he sauntered by, and he said "Watch the cosmos!" kind of slowly, in a mysterious, jovial way. I remember it striking me as a very odd thing to randomly say. It wasn't like him to say something weird like that. I half-ignored it and went back to what I was doing. He ended up coming back and passing us again and saying it 2 or 3 more times to us in the span of this 10 minute or so moment in time. I remember looking at Mike and we were like "what the hell is he talking about". Then we started saying it to each other as a joke. "Watch the cosmoooos!" I remember pieces of this memory better than most memories. I see bits of motion and hear phrases, and that alone would let me feel free to call it a vivid memory for me in my book.