Join the Unexplained Mysteries community today! It's free and setting up an account only takes a moment.
- Sign In or Create Account -

All Activity

This stream auto-updates   

1. Past hour
  2. May well be.
  3. Kmt Sesh has not showed up yet. So I will reply to you without Kmt. I am not a professional historian, thus I might not have used the best phraseology. But you seem to have a distortion of the idea I aimed to express. Previously in this topic, I linked to an article by Avraham Faust demonstrating that many biblical archaeology writers now favor a "small" Exodus event - at a date near or somewhat after Egypt's Ramesses III. In this post I will link to one such writer: Yehuda Rotblum, who identifies Egypt's "Shasu of Yahu" with the deity (YHWH) that eventually became Judea's monotheistic god. Before reading my summary (below) of the Rotblum article, I encourage people to ask themselves a rhetorical question: Since biblical Moses stationed both himself and his Levites at Kadesh-barnea for most of a 40-year-period-in-the-wilderness - were his Levites in "Egypt" during that 40-year period? The following is my summary of the Rotblum article: ... The third [proto-Israelite] group (1170 BC) parallels the story of Moses’ migration from the Negev or Egypt; these people formed the tribe of Levi, which brought its unique religious heritage and the belief in one god, Yahu. .... Moses was the leader of a group from the Negev and therefore the biblical stories, including the Exodus, are from this area.....a small group of people leaving the Negev Desert could undoubtedly leave unnoticed. Such a group with their leader, Moses, could sustain the harsh journey in the arid desert. .....In my opinion, Mount Sinai is not one mountain but several holy mountains scattered among the Midianite’s vast territory, each one designated by a different tribe as the dwelling place of their God. This may explain the references to the many holy places that are mentioned in the Bible. Upon