Join the Unexplained Mysteries community today! It's free and setting up an account only takes a moment.
- Sign In or Create Account -

Modus Operandi of Serial Killers

distortedpandy

Modus Operandi is Latin for "mode of operation". I studied quite a bit of criminal profiling while in college and on my own - and thought I would like to share the MO of most killers. :)

For all their widely varied motives, regardless of race or gender, serial killers generally stalk and kill their human prey in one of three ways, referred to hereafter as nomadic, territorial, or stationary methods. On rare occasions, most particularly when at risk of capture, a killer may change his or her technique, but such deviations are rare and never seem to last for long.

Nomadic killers are the travelers, moving frequently - often compulsively - from one location to another, killing as they go. Examples of this would be - Henry Lucas and Ottis Toole who killed in several states -- "The Serpent" Charles Sobhraj - who killed in several different countries.

Territorial killers are the most common. They stalk out a particular hunting ground that varies in size from one case to the next. Examples are - David Berkowitz "Son of Sam" who would stalk a particular city or neighborhood. Others range farther afield, as when the "Green River Killer" trolled for victims on the highway between Seattle and Tacoma, Washington. Others are strictly localized like Lester Harrison, He committed all of his murders in close proximity to Chicago's Grant Park. In theory - these killers should be easier to catch, but others remain at large for years - or escape entirely -- Jack the Ripper.