Join the Unexplained Mysteries community today! It's free and setting up an account only takes a moment.
- Sign In or Create Account -

Frozen body: Can we return from the dead?

Still Waters

The idea of preserving a person's body at very low temperatures in the hope that it will be restored by future medical technology has been a staple of science fiction. But could cryonics be a genuine way of being brought back to life, years into the future?

http://www.bbc.co.uk...ence/0/23695785

• Like 2

i dont think so...even it can be unfroze slowly and carefully i doubt it will be like as it is. a same brain and a new body would be more possible i think... :whistle:

Not unless you can find a way to prevent ice crystals from forming

• Like 1

Maybe a body or a brain could be somehow preserved at a temperature that is just a little above of that which allows the ice crystals to form? (just saying, i'm not an expert)

Edited by grc

Agree with Wickian. Ice crystals rupture cells.

It is my(unprofessional) understanding that a special, non-harmful "antifreeze", is utilized to help prevent cell rupture.

More importantly, though, and PLEASE read this, is that resuscitation after cryogenics HAS been done in lab rodents, BUT, the rodent was fully alive before the cryogenic procedure.

In other words, the resuscitation was only successful if the rodent was alive during "freezing"

Here's the problem:

In the U.S. at least, it is illegal to perform cryogenics on a living human being, as that is legally considered either murder or assisted suicide. Yet, according to the rodent studies, cryogenic resuscitation can only be successful if the animal is alive during the "freezing" procedure. A "catch-22"

A fully dead mouse, then frozen, has never been resuscitated, but the reverse is true for those mice frozen alive with the special injected antifreeze. BTW, the "safe" antifreeze is considered a major, critical advancement.