Join the Unexplained Mysteries community today! It's free and setting up an account only takes a moment.
- Sign In or Create Account -

Still Waters

A leading YouTube entrepreneur is facing legal action for alleged copyright infringement in her videos.

Ultra Records, which has musicians Kaskade, deadmau5 and Calvin Harris on its books, is suing Michelle Phan.

The label and its publishing arm claim she has used about 50 of their songs without permission in her YouTube videos and on her own website.

http://www.bbc.co.uk...nology-28418449

If I was a musician and people used my stuff for in their youtube videos, I'd consider it free advertising.

I wouldn't be surprised if the musicians do consider it free advertising, but at the end of the day its the company not the musician that makes that decision.

• Like 7

Copyright law exists for a reason and you really don't want to find yourself on the wrong end of a dispute. Although in this case there is nothing to dispute, she is clearly in the wrong.

I know what it's like to have your work leaked online and distributed through P2P, torrents and file hosting links..etc

• Like 1

A leading YouTube entrepreneur is facing legal action for alleged copyright infringement in her videos.

Ultra Records, which has musicians Kaskade, deadmau5 and Calvin Harris on its books, is suing Michelle

Phan. The label and its publishing arm claim she has used about 50 of their songs without permission in her

YouTube videos and on her own website.

Hve never heard about that lady but wiki helped. First to say is that she is using the music in one of her key marketing

tools, YT clips. All she is doing there is of pure commercial content and with the aim to make money. There is nothing

wrong about making money but if she use copyrighted music than she have to pay for so that the artistst get money

for their "products", thats for what copyright is for. I`m sure that she already had made millions with that "beauty" trallala