Jump to content




Welcome to Unexplained Mysteries! Please sign in or create an account to start posting and to access a host of extra features.


Chess: Moving things along


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
19 replies to this topic

#1    Saru

Saru

    Site Webmaster

  • 19,932 posts
  • Joined:06 Mar 2001
  • Gender:Male

  • "The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious." - Albert Einstein

Posted 24 March 2005 - 11:46 AM

Well we've seen a lot of chess being played over the last few weeks, 69 qualifying games in total, and numerous practice matches aswell. What we need to do now is continue to get the qualifying tournament games played, but perhaps up the pace a little to help us get through them all.

There are 18 participants left in the tournament, 10 of which have only played 5 games or less, and 7 of those having played only 3 games or less.

I'd like to encourage those players in particular to try and get a few more games out of the way. After a certain point, we're going to have to start removing participants who are inactive for long periods of time, otherwise everyone else will be waiting forever to get all their games finished.

Thanks  thumbsup.gif











#2    BurnSide

BurnSide

    Through the Looking Glass

  • Member
  • 25,390 posts
  • Joined:11 May 2004
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Everywhere.

  • “Experience is not what happens to you. It is what you do with what happens to you.”

Posted 24 March 2005 - 02:12 PM

This may be a good place to also remind everyone to set the move timeout to 1 day when setting up a game. That way if the opponent does not move for 24 hours, their 7-day timebank starts being eaten into, and once that is zero, they are disqualified.

7 day timebank still right? Or should we go lower to 5 day timebank or something, help speed things up?


#3    Saru

Saru

    Site Webmaster

  • 19,932 posts
  • Joined:06 Mar 2001
  • Gender:Male

  • "The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious." - Albert Einstein

Posted 24 March 2005 - 02:34 PM

QUOTE
7 day timebank still right? Or should we go lower to 5 day timebank or something, help speed things up?


Unfortunately I don't think you can set a 5 day timebank, 7 is the minimum. The only option lower than that is to turn the timebank off completely.


#4    BurnSide

BurnSide

    Through the Looking Glass

  • Member
  • 25,390 posts
  • Joined:11 May 2004
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Everywhere.

  • “Experience is not what happens to you. It is what you do with what happens to you.”

Posted 24 March 2005 - 02:41 PM

Ahh, okay then. So, 1 day move timeout, 7 day timebank.


#5    gollum

gollum

    Psychic Spy

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,131 posts
  • Joined:19 Oct 2003

  • CHE GUEVARA
    "La Revolucion De La Gente Cubana"

Posted 24 March 2005 - 06:25 PM

I have a slight problem with this.

I am away most w/ends with the Army and I may very well eat into my timebank a hell of a lot quicker than most.

I'm not being auckward but I'll go along with the masses if need be.

Two hundred pounds? I'm not trying to buy cocaine!

Dougal: Oho, Ted, the Italians know about football, all right. And fashion. God Ted, do you remember that man who was so good at fashion, they had to shoot him?


Come here and play online chess @ Gameknot!

#6    Thistle

Thistle

    Mighty Midget Queen of the Faeries

  • Member
  • 2,284 posts
  • Joined:11 Aug 2003
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Scotland

  • Stick Girl

Posted 24 March 2005 - 06:31 PM

I'm not sure that should be a problem, go to "My Settings" then "my vacation settings" and set yourself as away if need be.....you won't time out as long your set to away

thumbsup.gif


#7    gollum

gollum

    Psychic Spy

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,131 posts
  • Joined:19 Oct 2003

  • CHE GUEVARA
    "La Revolucion De La Gente Cubana"

Posted 24 March 2005 - 06:41 PM

Got it T. Thank you. thumbsup.gif

Two hundred pounds? I'm not trying to buy cocaine!

Dougal: Oho, Ted, the Italians know about football, all right. And fashion. God Ted, do you remember that man who was so good at fashion, they had to shoot him?


Come here and play online chess @ Gameknot!

#8    Daughter of the Nine Moons

Daughter of the Nine Moons

    ☆。Fearstriker Do'Teh 。☆

  • 14,316 posts
  • Joined:11 Jan 2004
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:I forgot...

  • ☆彡

Posted 24 March 2005 - 07:18 PM

QUOTE(gollum @ Mar 24 2005, 01:41 PM)
Got it T. Thank you. thumbsup.gif

View Post


gollum & Lottie I am experiencing server problems with RHP so it may take a while for me to actually make my move

iheartsugarbear

#9    gollum

gollum

    Psychic Spy

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,131 posts
  • Joined:19 Oct 2003

  • CHE GUEVARA
    "La Revolucion De La Gente Cubana"

Posted 25 March 2005 - 01:55 PM

No problem Dot. I'm in no rush, I play chess every day.

Gollum's tip; Don't rush in and move even if your sure it's the right one. thumbsup.gif

Two hundred pounds? I'm not trying to buy cocaine!

Dougal: Oho, Ted, the Italians know about football, all right. And fashion. God Ted, do you remember that man who was so good at fashion, they had to shoot him?


Come here and play online chess @ Gameknot!

#10    BurnSide

BurnSide

    Through the Looking Glass

  • Member
  • 25,390 posts
  • Joined:11 May 2004
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Everywhere.

  • “Experience is not what happens to you. It is what you do with what happens to you.”

Posted 04 April 2005 - 06:18 PM

QUOTE(Thistle @ Mar 24 2005, 01:31 PM)
I'm not sure that should be a problem, go to "My Settings" then "my vacation settings" and set yourself as away if need be.....you won't time out as long your set to away

thumbsup.gif

View Post





My opponent, Mista Gollum, has indeed set himself on vacation status, and has been away for several days.

However, his time bank has actually continued to drop, he's down to 4 days remaining in the timebank.

What if he does not get back before his timebank reaches zero? I don't think it would be fair to claim the win, since he was under the impression he would not timeout.
But the game is very much underway, and i was literally a few moves from a win!
mellow.gif


#11    Thistle

Thistle

    Mighty Midget Queen of the Faeries

  • Member
  • 2,284 posts
  • Joined:11 Aug 2003
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Scotland

  • Stick Girl

Posted 04 April 2005 - 07:07 PM

I don't think you can claim a win if he was set to "away" I'm not sure how it works exactly but I'm sure it stops you from claiming it as a win  wacko.gif


#12    BurnSide

BurnSide

    Through the Looking Glass

  • Member
  • 25,390 posts
  • Joined:11 May 2004
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Everywhere.

  • “Experience is not what happens to you. It is what you do with what happens to you.”

Posted 04 April 2005 - 07:23 PM

Kinda defeats the whole timeout purpose if you can stop it whenever you want though doesn't it.


#13    Thistle

Thistle

    Mighty Midget Queen of the Faeries

  • Member
  • 2,284 posts
  • Joined:11 Aug 2003
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Scotland

  • Stick Girl

Posted 04 April 2005 - 07:34 PM

Hmmmmm I can't find the bit that said you couldn't claim a win (maybe I dreamt it  hmm.gif ) maybe if worst comes to worst and Gollum DOES time out you could replay the game from the point you are at now? it would save starting a whole new match




#14    BurnSide

BurnSide

    Through the Looking Glass

  • Member
  • 25,390 posts
  • Joined:11 May 2004
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Everywhere.

  • “Experience is not what happens to you. It is what you do with what happens to you.”

Posted 04 April 2005 - 07:36 PM

It's pretty far into the game. A good 40+ moves have been made in total, i don't think that'll work.
I'm just gonna keep my fingers crossed that he gets back and moves within 4 days. original.gif


#15    Thistle

Thistle

    Mighty Midget Queen of the Faeries

  • Member
  • 2,284 posts
  • Joined:11 Aug 2003
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Scotland

  • Stick Girl

Posted 04 April 2005 - 07:42 PM

okies.....if it comes to it.....start a new game with Gollum.....but click on "advanced options" then  "play from set piece".  You can then set the board up exactly as it is now to play on from this point.


thumbsup.gif





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users