Join the Unexplained Mysteries community today! It's free and setting up an account only takes a moment.
- Sign In or Create Account -

Costa Concordia captain's seminar sparks row

questionmark

A furious row has broken out within Italy's biggest university after it emerged that Francesco Schettino, the former skipper of the Costa Concordia, had been invited to address a seminar organised by one of its professors.

Schettino, who is on trial charged with manslaughter and other offences, was quoted as saying: "I was called in because I am an expert. I had to illustrate the management of panic control."

Thirty-two people died amid chaotic scenes after the giant liner smashed into a rock off the island of Giglio on the night of 13 January 2012. A diver later died during the salvage operation.

Read more

So what is he going to speak about? Upholding Italian tradition by pi$$ing off when the going gets tough? Or why you have to stand in the first life boat when you scream: 'Women and children first'?

• Like 2

in related news:

Capt Francesco Schettino teaches panic management course at Rome university

Read more

As suspected...

in related news:

As suspected...

Seriously? The man proved himself to be a total coward, not the best credentials for the Captain of a Cruise Liner. "Accidentally tripped into a Lifeboat"?? Please, give us all some credit - he was admonished by the Italian Coastguard for abandoning his post - whilst it was happening... his response" I can better aid the rescue from the shore"...Jeez the Coastguard was ticked off with him. told him to go back and command operations from the ship - Oh no, he was having none of it, he was safe whilst his charges were in desperate straights.

I hope he goes down for life - useless piece of Maritime History <_<

• Like 1