Join the Unexplained Mysteries community today! It's free and setting up an account only takes a moment.
- Sign In or Create Account -

The shadow people phenomenon

RosannaB

Hello everyone, I'm a newbie and glad to have found this site, I hope this is the right place to post my query.

I'm researching the history of the shadow people phenomenon for a book of fiction based on personal experience of what we call the inner worlds or invisible worlds, (spirit worlds and elemental kingdoms) and the shadows play a major part in my book. I want the info in my book to be based on fact as much as possible and I was wondering if any of you were aware of any mention of them in history, myths, indigenous cultures' legends etc..

So far, I have found references on the shadows or 'soul eaters' as they are also called in Carlos Castaneda's books on the teachings of Yaqui Indian Don Juan Matus:

We have a predator that came from the depths of the cosmos and took over the rule of our lives. Human beings are its prisoners. The predator is our lord and master. It has rendered us docile, helpless. If we want to protest, it suppresses our protest. If we want to act independently, it demands that we don’t do so...

Sorcerers believe that the predators have given us our systems of beliefs, our ideas of good and evil, our social mores. They are the ones who set up our hopes and expectations and dreams of success or failure. They have given us covetousness, greed and cowardice. It is the predators who make us complacent, routinary and egomaniacal.

There is also a really interesting article on the web about a possible reference to the shadows in ancient Gnostic texts. Here is the link: http://www.metahisto... ... gnosis.php

I don't know if Wikipedia can be trusted as a credible source of factual info but but it makes reference to shadow people in Choctaw mythology, http://en.wikipedia....octaw_mythology: