Jump to content




Welcome to Unexplained Mysteries! Please sign in or create an account to start posting and to access a host of extra features.


- - - - -

Router issues


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1    Wordless Wanderer

Wordless Wanderer

    Midnight Snack Muncher

  • Member
  • 2,420 posts
  • Joined:27 Sep 2011
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Over the rainbow

  • Tinky winky, Dipsy, La-la, Po! Eh-Oh!

Posted 27 December 2012 - 08:15 AM

I am using an Asus wireless router and using a Netgear wifi adapter for the computer. When I am using the internet, it keeps disconnecting randomly and when I check the wifi adapter sometimes my router's is in the available connections list and sometimes it isn't. It reconnects on its own after some time, sometimes as soon as a minute and sometimes as long as 20 minutes. At first I thought something is wrong with the wifi adapter so I switched on my laptop and noticed that the same was happening to the laptop as well. My desktop is about around 18-20 feet away from the router. I've tried changing the channel of the router to an isolated one but that doesn't help. It is very very infuriating. Any suggestions as to how I can fix that? I've connected the laptop with the ethernet wire and it works fine, so its not the connection.

Posted Image

#2    Wordless Wanderer

Wordless Wanderer

    Midnight Snack Muncher

  • Member
  • 2,420 posts
  • Joined:27 Sep 2011
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Over the rainbow

  • Tinky winky, Dipsy, La-la, Po! Eh-Oh!

Posted 27 December 2012 - 08:31 AM

See its not just the computer that's facing the problem, it happens even if I use my laptop. Nonetheless, yes I have tried switching the adapter to a different port, infact I've used every damn port. The router has a WPA personal key.

When it gets disconnected and I check my adapter, I can see other connections (Oh and I live in an apartment complex) and my router's SSID is visible for a few seconds and then it disappears. Then I have to wait for it to get reconnected. The same happens when I am using my laptop

Posted Image

#3    the-Unexpected-Soul

the-Unexpected-Soul

    Astral Projection

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 711 posts
  • Joined:02 Aug 2008
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:syria

Posted 27 December 2012 - 08:40 AM

maybe the router is beside a heat source or too many people using it, so it turn off Wifi when it's heated, and turn's on when it cool down
also you might  want to sit the (ip) distribution into Manual, especially if there is many people is using the router

Posted Image

#4    Wordless Wanderer

Wordless Wanderer

    Midnight Snack Muncher

  • Member
  • 2,420 posts
  • Joined:27 Sep 2011
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Over the rainbow

  • Tinky winky, Dipsy, La-la, Po! Eh-Oh!

Posted 27 December 2012 - 08:48 AM

View Postthe-Unexpected-Soul, on 27 December 2012 - 08:40 AM, said:

maybe the router is beside a heat source or too many people using it, so it turn off Wifi when it's heated, and turn's on when it cool down
also you might  want to sit the (ip) distribution into Manual, especially if there is many people is using the router
The router's not beside a heat source. Its on a nice wooden side table with books on the side. There's only one person using the router (me) and only one computer is attached to it at a time

View Postbones101proof, on 27 December 2012 - 08:41 AM, said:

Huh.. (scratching my head, thinking, lol). How about reseting everything, unplug your router and/or modem for 1 or 2 minutes and your computer too? I hope it works for you

Lol. It got disconnected while I was typing the reply. I've tried resetting everything. That's like the first thing I do when something is wrong. Lol. I'm this close to throwing the router outta my window from the fourth floor

Posted Image

#5    Imaginarynumber1

Imaginarynumber1

    I am not an irrational number

  • Member
  • 4,232 posts
  • Joined:22 Mar 2010
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 27 December 2012 - 08:50 AM

Hate to say it, but it could just be a busted router. I had a problem that was similar with an old router of mine. Got a new one and no problems since.

"A cat has nine lives. For three he plays, for three he strays, and for the last three he stays."


July 17th, 2008 (Full moon the next night)

RAPTORS! http://www.unexplain...pic=233151&st=0


#6    the-Unexpected-Soul

the-Unexpected-Soul

    Astral Projection

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 711 posts
  • Joined:02 Aug 2008
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:syria

Posted 27 December 2012 - 08:53 AM

View PostWordless Wanderer, on 27 December 2012 - 08:48 AM, said:

Lol. It got disconnected while I was typing the reply. I've tried resetting everything. That's like the first thing I do when something is wrong. Lol. I'm this close to throwing the router outta my window from the fourth floor

if you are near throwing it away then you can experiment with it a littel bit even though we might lose you for ever lol, but i wanna ask you first, is this device is the one that have the DSL or what ever connected to it ?

Posted Image

#7    Wordless Wanderer

Wordless Wanderer

    Midnight Snack Muncher

  • Member
  • 2,420 posts
  • Joined:27 Sep 2011
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Over the rainbow

  • Tinky winky, Dipsy, La-la, Po! Eh-Oh!

Posted 27 December 2012 - 09:10 AM

View PostImaginarynumber1, on 27 December 2012 - 08:50 AM, said:

Hate to say it, but it could just be a busted router. I had a problem that was similar with an old router of mine. Got a new one and no problems since.

But but I just bought it  :cry:

View Postthe-Unexpected-Soul, on 27 December 2012 - 08:53 AM, said:

if you are near throwing it away then you can experiment with it a littel bit even though we might lose you for ever lol, but i wanna ask you first, is this device is the one that have the DSL or what ever connected to it ?
Yes it is.

Posted Image

#8    Imaginarynumber1

Imaginarynumber1

    I am not an irrational number

  • Member
  • 4,232 posts
  • Joined:22 Mar 2010
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 27 December 2012 - 09:28 AM

View PostWordless Wanderer, on 27 December 2012 - 09:10 AM, said:

But but I just bought it  :cry:

If you JUST just bought it, take it back and try to exchange it.

Failing that, fill it full of explosives and blow that sh!@ up.

"A cat has nine lives. For three he plays, for three he strays, and for the last three he stays."


July 17th, 2008 (Full moon the next night)

RAPTORS! http://www.unexplain...pic=233151&st=0


#9    Wordless Wanderer

Wordless Wanderer

    Midnight Snack Muncher

  • Member
  • 2,420 posts
  • Joined:27 Sep 2011
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Over the rainbow

  • Tinky winky, Dipsy, La-la, Po! Eh-Oh!

Posted 27 December 2012 - 09:33 AM

View PostImaginarynumber1, on 27 December 2012 - 09:28 AM, said:

If you JUST just bought it, take it back and try to exchange it.

Failing that, fill it full of explosives and blow that sh!@ up.

Okay Posted Image (although I do think there's some setting that needs to fiddled with)



I'll look up where to get nitroglycerin for the explosion part.

Posted Image

#10    Imaginarynumber1

Imaginarynumber1

    I am not an irrational number

  • Member
  • 4,232 posts
  • Joined:22 Mar 2010
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 27 December 2012 - 09:43 AM

View PostWordless Wanderer, on 27 December 2012 - 09:33 AM, said:

Okay Posted Image (although I do think there's some setting that needs to fiddled with)



I'll look up where to get nitroglycerin for the explosion part.

Did you try updating your drivers for your wireless card? That helps sometimes.

Also, go to "Manage wireless networks" and remove your network from the list. Your network may be the only one on there if you've never connected to another network. Then try reconnecting to it. That also sometimes solves the problem.

Router problems come from all kinds of crap. Could be something as simple as changing a channel setting to get rid of interference.

Edit. You could always reset the router settings with the little tiny button on the back and see if that works. Of course, you've have to set up a password and etc after you do that.

Edited by Imaginarynumber1, 27 December 2012 - 09:44 AM.

"A cat has nine lives. For three he plays, for three he strays, and for the last three he stays."


July 17th, 2008 (Full moon the next night)

RAPTORS! http://www.unexplain...pic=233151&st=0


#11    Wordless Wanderer

Wordless Wanderer

    Midnight Snack Muncher

  • Member
  • 2,420 posts
  • Joined:27 Sep 2011
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Over the rainbow

  • Tinky winky, Dipsy, La-la, Po! Eh-Oh!

Posted 27 December 2012 - 09:47 AM

View PostImaginarynumber1, on 27 December 2012 - 09:43 AM, said:

Did you try updating your drivers for your wireless card? That helps sometimes.

Also, go to "Manage wireless networks" and remove your network from the list. Your network may be the only one on there if you've never connected to another network. Then try reconnecting to it. That also sometimes solves the problem.

Router problems come from all kinds of crap. Could be something as simple as changing a channel setting to get rid of interference.

Edit. You could always reset the router settings with the little tiny button on the back and see if that works. Of course, you've have to set up a password and etc after you do that.

I've done all of the above. Spoke to a friend and he said I have to change some setting in the administrator settings in the control panel. Bloody idiot is on a flight. He didn't even tell me which setting to change.

Posted Image

#12    Imaginarynumber1

Imaginarynumber1

    I am not an irrational number

  • Member
  • 4,232 posts
  • Joined:22 Mar 2010
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 27 December 2012 - 09:59 AM

View PostWordless Wanderer, on 27 December 2012 - 09:47 AM, said:

I've done all of the above. Spoke to a friend and he said I have to change some setting in the administrator settings in the control panel. Bloody idiot is on a flight. He didn't even tell me which setting to change.

Go to "Mange Wireless Networks"

If you see your wireless network listed, right-click on its icon and click Properties. Check the option "Connect even if the network is not broadcasting its name (SSID)."

If you don't see your wireless network listed, click "Add" then select "Manually connect to a wireless network" and put your wireless information in. That SHOULD solve the conection issues when your network is not broadcasting its SSID.

I've also had problems with cable line splitters. The last time I had cable installed the guy switched the coax cables between the modem and the cable box. If you have splitters on your cable line make sure that there are no open connections.

Edited by Imaginarynumber1, 27 December 2012 - 10:00 AM.

"A cat has nine lives. For three he plays, for three he strays, and for the last three he stays."


July 17th, 2008 (Full moon the next night)

RAPTORS! http://www.unexplain...pic=233151&st=0


#13    Wordless Wanderer

Wordless Wanderer

    Midnight Snack Muncher

  • Member
  • 2,420 posts
  • Joined:27 Sep 2011
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Over the rainbow

  • Tinky winky, Dipsy, La-la, Po! Eh-Oh!

Posted 27 December 2012 - 10:04 AM

Ok just did that. Now I just have to wait and see if I get disconnected again. Thanks :D

Posted Image

#14    Imaginarynumber1

Imaginarynumber1

    I am not an irrational number

  • Member
  • 4,232 posts
  • Joined:22 Mar 2010
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 27 December 2012 - 10:06 AM

View PostWordless Wanderer, on 27 December 2012 - 10:04 AM, said:

Ok just did that. Now I just have to wait and see if I get disconnected again. Thanks :D

Good luck. :tu: Let me know if it keeps dropping. I might be able to come up with a few more fixes.

"A cat has nine lives. For three he plays, for three he strays, and for the last three he stays."


July 17th, 2008 (Full moon the next night)

RAPTORS! http://www.unexplain...pic=233151&st=0


#15    Imaginarynumber1

Imaginarynumber1

    I am not an irrational number

  • Member
  • 4,232 posts
  • Joined:22 Mar 2010
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 27 December 2012 - 10:13 AM

Give this program a try: http://www.metageek....port/downloads/

It will let you see the networks around you, their signal strength and what channels they use. Channels 1,6, and 11 offer the best separation. Set your router accordingly to minimize interference.

"A cat has nine lives. For three he plays, for three he strays, and for the last three he stays."


July 17th, 2008 (Full moon the next night)

RAPTORS! http://www.unexplain...pic=233151&st=0





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users