Welcome to Unexplained Mysteries! Please sign in or create an account to start posting and to access a host of extra features.

- - - - -

Obama Quote on Judges; Scary Views

• Please log in to reply
111 replies to this topic

#1    rideron

rideron

Apparition

• PipPip
  • 286 posts

Posted 28 August 2008 - 06:35 PM

I have been an attorney for 25 years,

Until I learned more about him, I was excited by Obama for all the reasons most are; he is at first blush idealistically inspiring.

His idealism, however, now appears sophomoric based on his ideas regarding what he thinks makes for a 'good Federal Judge". Here's a quote from a July 17, 2007 speech to Planned Parenthood:

"We need somebody who's got the heart, the empathy, to recognize what it's like to be a young teenage mom. The empathy to understand what it's like to be poor, or African-American, or gay, or disabled, or old."

Sorry, but thats totally WRONG and COMPETELY antithetical to the whole idea of the RULE OF LAW IN SOCIETY.

Such sensitivities might serve an admirable legislator, but what nothing to do with judging. NO JUDGE should be swayed simply based on whichever party in a controversy stirs his or her empathy and emotion.

The statue of the figure of Justice is shown as being blind and weighing a scale for this very reason.  If sympathy is supposed to have any place in a Court, its for the jury, NOT the JUDGE.

For the Presidential Candidate of one of the major political parties to hold this kind of idea is very, very frightening.

Edited by rideron, 28 August 2008 - 06:35 PM.

#2    acidhead

acidhead

Were Not Your Slaves!

• 10,511 posts

Posted 28 August 2008 - 06:44 PM

..one can sense the sophomoric tension by simply watching Michelle Obama at the convention..

.. she looks extremely frightened ..

"there is no wrong or right - just popular opinion"

#3    Neognosis

Neognosis

Telekinetic

• 7,159 posts

• Just try not to hurt anybody, ok?

Posted 28 August 2008 - 06:59 PM