Jump to content




Welcome to Unexplained Mysteries! Please sign in or create an account to start posting and to access a host of extra features.


- - - - -

Shenzhou-9 docks with Tiangong-1

shenzhou tiangong long march chinese docking

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1    Waspie_Dwarf

Waspie_Dwarf

    Space Cadet

  • 34,216 posts
  • Joined:03 Mar 2006
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bexleyheath, Kent, UK

  • We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars.

    Oscar Wilde

Posted 18 June 2012 - 07:37 AM

Shenzhou-9 docks with Tiangong-1


www.bbc.co.uk said:

China's Shenzhou-9 capsule, with its crew of three, has docked with the Tiangong-1 space lab.

The coupling of the vehicles occurred just after 14:00 Beijing time (06:00 GMT; 07:00 BST) over China itself.

The latest Shenzhou mission was launched on Saturday, taking the nation's first female astronaut into orbit.

Thirty-three-year old Liu Yang flies with Commander Jing Haipeng, 46, and fellow flight engineer, Liu Wang, 42.

It is China's fourth manned mission and another opportunity to see how far the Asian nation has developed its space technology.

Posted Image Read more...


"Space is big. Really big. You just won't believe how vastly, hugely, mind-boggingly big it is. I mean, you may think it's a long way down the street to the chemist, but that's just peanuts to space." - The Hitch-Hikers Guide to the Galaxy - Douglas Adams 1952 - 2001

Posted Image
Click on button

#2    Waspie_Dwarf

Waspie_Dwarf

    Space Cadet

  • 34,216 posts
  • Joined:03 Mar 2006
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bexleyheath, Kent, UK

  • We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars.

    Oscar Wilde

Posted 19 June 2012 - 12:31 AM

Chinese astronauts open door on orbiting research lab


www.spaceflightnow.com said:

Flying on autopilot with three astronauts on-board, China's Shenzhou 9 spacecraft glided to a smooth docking with the Tiangong 1 space lab Monday, forming a small-scale space station 200 miles above Earth.

Jing Haipeng, Shenzhou 9's veteran commander, was first to enter the laboratory module about three hours after the two vehicles docked at 0607 GMT (2:07 a.m. EDT; 2:07 p.m. Beijing time).

Posted Image Read more...


Edited by Waspie_Dwarf, 19 June 2012 - 12:35 AM.

"Space is big. Really big. You just won't believe how vastly, hugely, mind-boggingly big it is. I mean, you may think it's a long way down the street to the chemist, but that's just peanuts to space." - The Hitch-Hikers Guide to the Galaxy - Douglas Adams 1952 - 2001

Posted Image
Click on button

#3    DONTEATUS

DONTEATUS

    Forum Divinity

  • Member
  • 19,031 posts
  • Joined:15 Feb 2008
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Planet TEXAS

Posted 19 June 2012 - 02:20 AM

Great post Waspie !

This is a Work in Progress!

#4    marcos anthony toledo

marcos anthony toledo

    Ectoplasmic Residue

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 224 posts
  • Joined:09 Aug 2009

Posted 19 June 2012 - 11:46 AM

A mission to be proud of so far for China looking forward to a great successful mission to come.


#5    Timonthy

Timonthy

    Placid

  • Member
  • 2,208 posts
  • Joined:30 Nov 2010
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Aust.

Posted 19 June 2012 - 12:46 PM

With the amount of expendable resources I imagine China will have in the future, it's great to see they are investing in space.

Posted Image






Also tagged with shenzhou, tiangong, long march, chinese, docking

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users