Welcome to Unexplained Mysteries! Please sign in or create an account to start posting and to access a host of extra features.

- - - - -

Terrified to sleep

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1    Mako_Torriblaidd

Mako_Torriblaidd

Alien Embryo

• Pip
  • 56 posts

• The bird of Hermes is my name, eating my wings to keep me tame.

Posted 05 December 2012 - 07:24 AM

So lately, when I have been trying to sleep, I have found that sleep has to sneak up on me. Any time I remotely notice it my body freaks out, as in jerks itself back and me back to true consciousness. Any thoughts on why or how to help this? It's getting rather annoying and depriving me of sleep.

#2    Professor T

Professor T

Λ Ο Δ, 2222

• 2,453 posts

• I'm not really a Professor so don't take my words as Gospel

Posted 05 December 2012 - 07:42 AM

View PostMako_Torriblaidd, on 05 December 2012 - 07:24 AM, said:

So lately, when I have been trying to sleep, I have found that sleep has to sneak up on me. Any time I remotely notice it my body freaks out, as in jerks itself back and me back to true consciousness. Any thoughts on why or how to help this? It's getting rather annoying and depriving me of sleep.

Am not too sure, but this sounds like hypnagogic jerk..
Please don't take my word for it though, this isn't medical advice..
http://en.wikipedia....iki/Hypnic_jerk

I've had this on rare occasions in the past when just as you are about to fall asleep you notice it like a falling sensation, and instantly jerk yourself out of the fall, lol.. This was in my case due to very long hours, 12, 14 hour shifts, working 26 or more days non-stop.. lack of sleep caused it... sometimes it was accompanied by a sound, a shout..

Edited by Professor T, 05 December 2012 - 07:44 AM.

#3    Mako_Torriblaidd

Mako_Torriblaidd

Alien Embryo

• Pip
  • 56 posts

• The bird of Hermes is my name, eating my wings to keep me tame.

Posted 05 December 2012 - 07:53 AM