Jump to content




Welcome to Unexplained Mysteries! Please sign in or create an account to start posting and to access a host of extra features.


- - - - -

New CPU?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1    chromefox

chromefox

    Ectoplasmic Residue

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 160 posts
  • Joined:24 Jan 2010
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 23 January 2013 - 05:14 PM

Hey guys back again, im going to upgrade the CPU on an acer aspire x3400 and i have been looking into it and a good candidate would be the amd phenom x4 black edition 965 what i would like to do though is pick your brains for a second opinion and see if there is a better cpu thats more up to date or even just compatible, note i will be installing a new cooling system too and it is recased with a new psu . thanks for takin the time to read my babble lol


#2    WoIverine

WoIverine

    Telekinetic

  • Member
  • 6,721 posts
  • Joined:16 Sep 2008
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 January 2013 - 05:20 PM

Anybody know offhand how many cores the intel I7's have these days? I haven't been following for a while. Did the I9's ever come out?

Edited by WoIverine, 23 January 2013 - 05:20 PM.


#3    wolfknight

wolfknight

    Psychic Spy

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,658 posts
  • Joined:26 Jun 2007
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA Kentucky

  • There is nothing to Fear, but fear itself

Posted 23 January 2013 - 06:09 PM

Take a look at the EMachines


#4    Coffey

Coffey

    Majestic 12 Operative

  • Member
  • 5,671 posts
  • Joined:09 Oct 2009
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich UK

  • "Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts." - Winston Churchill

Posted 23 January 2013 - 06:59 PM

I really recommend Intel to be honest. AMD hasn't been as good as Intel for a while now. (will probably change again at some point)

The AMD Phenom x4 black edition 965 isn't that much of an upgrade over your current processor. I would advise you not to waste the money. It's kinda like buying a whole new engine for your car just to upgrade a 2.0 ltr to a 2.2 ltr. You wouldn't notice much of a performance boost for a processor that costs only a little bit more than your current one.

I'd recommend saving if you don't have the spare money for a new motherboard and CPU. I'd say go Intel and get an i5 or i7.


View PostWoIverine, on 23 January 2013 - 05:20 PM, said:

Anybody know offhand how many cores the intel I7's have these days? I haven't been following for a while. Did the I9's ever come out?

The i7 is quad core.


I'm not sure if the i9 is still coming or if it was re-branded as the i7-980x which is a 6 core processor. (very expensive processor, around £700 to £800)

Edited by Coffey, 23 January 2013 - 07:06 PM.

When the power of love overcomes the love of power, the world will know peace.

#5    pallidin

pallidin

    Telekinetic

  • Member
  • 6,786 posts
  • Joined:09 Dec 2004
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewhere south of the North Pole

  • "When life gets you down... swim with a dolphin"

Posted 23 January 2013 - 07:18 PM

My desktop i7 has 8 cores, according to Task Manager. Not sure if it's 4-core physical plus 4-core logical. But Task Manager shows 8.
I'm on my much less powerful laptop now, but here are some specs of the desktop.

Gateway FX6840
Intel i7 870
2.93Ghz
8 Gigs Installed RAM
Windows 7 Professional, 64-bit.

So, I'm not sure. I presume 4 physical + 4 logical CPU cores.

Edited by pallidin, 23 January 2013 - 07:24 PM.


#6    Coffey

Coffey

    Majestic 12 Operative

  • Member
  • 5,671 posts
  • Joined:09 Oct 2009
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich UK

  • "Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts." - Winston Churchill

Posted 23 January 2013 - 07:33 PM

View Postpallidin, on 23 January 2013 - 07:18 PM, said:

My desktop i7 has 8 cores, according to Task Manager. Not sure if it's 4-core physical plus 4-core logical. But Task Manager shows 8.
I'm on my much less powerful laptop now, but here are some specs of the desktop.

Gateway FX6840
Intel i7 870
2.93Ghz
8 Gigs Installed RAM
Windows 7 Professional, 64-bit.

So, I'm not sure. I presume 4 physical + 4 logical CPU cores.

Yeah it's 4 physical cores. It has 8 threads though, which means it can do 8 tasks. It's more like 4 physical = 8 logical.

Edited by Coffey, 23 January 2013 - 07:33 PM.

When the power of love overcomes the love of power, the world will know peace.

#7    WoIverine

WoIverine

    Telekinetic

  • Member
  • 6,721 posts
  • Joined:16 Sep 2008
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 January 2013 - 07:52 PM

Cool, thanks for the info Coffey. I had been wondering what was going on with intel for a while.


#8    pallidin

pallidin

    Telekinetic

  • Member
  • 6,786 posts
  • Joined:09 Dec 2004
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewhere south of the North Pole

  • "When life gets you down... swim with a dolphin"

Posted 23 January 2013 - 08:53 PM

Thanks Coffey.  :yes:


#9    Mr Right Wing

Mr Right Wing

    Poltergeist

  • Banned
  • 2,924 posts
  • Joined:16 Nov 2011
  • Gender:Not Selected

Posted 23 January 2013 - 09:37 PM

View Postchromefox, on 23 January 2013 - 05:14 PM, said:

Hey guys back again, im going to upgrade the CPU on an acer aspire x3400 and i have been looking into it and a good candidate would be the amd phenom x4 black edition 965 what i would like to do though is pick your brains for a second opinion and see if there is a better cpu thats more up to date or even just compatible, note i will be installing a new cooling system too and it is recased with a new psu . thanks for takin the time to read my babble lol

I always buy Athlons.

You can get one thats 4Ghz Octacore (8 cores) for £153 - http://www.microdire...Processors-AMD/ instead of the 3.6Ghz 965.

I've brought off them before and they're reliable.


#10    Coffey

Coffey

    Majestic 12 Operative

  • Member
  • 5,671 posts
  • Joined:09 Oct 2009
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich UK

  • "Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts." - Winston Churchill

Posted 23 January 2013 - 09:47 PM

No problem guys, always happy to give advice or my opinion. lol

View PostMr Right Wing, on 23 January 2013 - 09:37 PM, said:

I always buy Athlons.

You can get one thats 4Ghz Octacore (8 cores) for £153 - http://www.microdire...Processors-AMD/ instead of the 3.6Ghz 965.

I've brought off them before and they're reliable.

+ 1 for Microdirect being reliable.


I personally prefer Intel processors at the moment though. :P

Edited by Coffey, 23 January 2013 - 09:47 PM.

When the power of love overcomes the love of power, the world will know peace.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users