Welcome to Unexplained Mysteries! Please sign in or create an account to start posting and to access a host of extra features.

- - - - -

What is it to be human?

• Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1    Professor T

Professor T

3 of 7

• 2,579 posts

• I'm not really a Professor so don't take my words as Gospel

Posted 23 February 2013 - 09:22 PM

We can all basically agree that we are human biological beings, but from there on in we can't agree on definitions of the human condition or basically what it is to be us.. One would assume that we should all agree on a definition relitively quickly, given that we are humans..

So, pretty simple really, in one paragraph or less, define what it is to be a human in the Philosophical, Psycological or Spiritual sense of the word. What aspects define what we are.. What's at the core of our being... What is it to be human?

Edited by Professor T, 23 February 2013 - 09:39 PM.

#2    Professor T

Professor T

3 of 7

• 2,579 posts

Posted 23 February 2013 - 09:47 PM

I think that a definition of what it is to be human is to Imagine, Invent and Inspire.. These three aspects are things that imo seem to place humans apart from other known creatures in the animal kingdom, and from those three you can trace back most  non-ego driven agendas.

#3    Sean93

Sean93

Astral Projection

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 725 posts

• WRATH

Posted 23 February 2013 - 11:04 PM

The simple fact that we can even pose such a question distinguishes us from all other species on the planet. To be human is, I suppose, to be the successful result of billions of years of evolution and we'r really just lucky that genetics took this turn into giving us superior intellect over other animals.

Edited by Sean93, 23 February 2013 - 11:05 PM.

"Be peaceful, be courteous, respect everyone; but if someone puts his hand on you, send him to the cemetery."

“To learn who rules over you, simply find out who you are not allowed to criticize.”