Join the Unexplained Mysteries community today! It's free and setting up an account only takes a moment.
- Sign In or Create Account -

Levels of Possession - What's it like?

DoubtfulFire495

Apologies if this thread's been done before, but I searched and couldn't find one like this, only individual experiences.

From what I've found through research and general curiosity, there seems to be different kinds of possession. I am by no means an expert (I hardly know about this stuff, hence this little thread of curiosity!) I'll list them from mild to most extreme.

1. Short-term, general moodiness. Aware and alert, but sudden onset of violent or angry thoughts towards other people. The sudden urge to choke, harm, or attack, but with full control over one's body. A voice in the individual's head may or may not be present, telling the possessed to attack, to hate, or whatever else. Feelings of coldness or tingling. Usually only lasts from a few minutes to a few hours.

2. Long-term. The same as 1, but ongoing over a period of weeks, months, or even years. Abrupt mood swings and bursts of anger. Individual becomes unpredictable and isolated. In some cases, the individual recognizes or even knows they are being possessed either through mutual agreement (in return for whatever the demon or entity promises) or through fear and lack of understanding.