Welcome to Unexplained Mysteries! Please sign in or create an account to start posting and to access a host of extra features.

- - - - -

Will SETI ultimately fail ?

• Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1    Codemonger

Codemonger

Ectoplasmic Residue

• Pip
  • 140 posts

• "I can calculate the motion of heavenly bodies, but not the madness of people" - Isaac Newton

Posted 21 August 2013 - 01:16 AM

I am no expert when it comes to SETI, but when it comes to digital communication I do know a couple of things and this is something that has been bugging me for a long time. Has anyone thought that if an ET civilization is broadcasting signals that the signal would probably be advanced enough to be an encrypted digital transmission and would lose any integrity of being recognized as a raw message.  An encrypted communication signal, sent through radio or not, from point A to B looks identical to white noise.

I believe SETI may ultimately fail because of this oversight. Is SETI thinking too primitive or am I completely wrong ?

#2    ShadowSot

ShadowSot

Stinky Cheese

• 6,874 posts

• Oops.

Posted 21 August 2013 - 01:21 AM

Yep, I think that is a known problem. They are looking for basic radiowaves, fornwhat was us a fairly narrow gap of time.
They recognize the limits of the plan, especially since they are only able search a small section of the sky at any given time.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.
-Terry Pratchett

#3    Ryu

Ryu

Born to fail.

• 3,532 posts

• Just because it is in a book doesn't mean it is real or even remotely true.

Posted 21 August 2013 - 01:34 AM