Welcome to Unexplained Mysteries! Please sign in or create an account to start posting and to access a host of extra features.

- - - - -

you, yes YOU, are a cosmic Schmuck.

robert wilson reality perception philisophy

• Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1    Professor T

Professor T

3 of 7

• 2,579 posts

• I'm not really a Professor so don't take my words as Gospel

Posted 07 November 2013 - 11:22 PM

IMO, this is a great Philosophy..

If you get out of bed each morning and realize that "Oh crap, I am a cosmic Schmuck." You'll become embarrassed by being such a cosmic Schmuck and want to become less of a cosmic Schmuck, and over time, you will become less of a Cosmic Schmuck.. But if you get of of bed each morning and don't realize that you are a Cosmic Schmuck, you will stay being a Cosmic Schmuck for the rest of your life..

This is a great Philosophy, coined by Robert Anton Wilson..  And essentially it entails this..

We all create our own little maps of reality tunnels composed of beliefs and Ideas about reality.. But these reality maps are exactly what they are, a Map of our perceptions of reality, and not the real reality that everyone faces every day. These maps are formed by our ideas about what is real and are composed of less than a single percent of what is actually real.. And the stupid thing about us is that we use these maps to perceive our own reality... A Map is not the landscape the same way a Menu is not the meal.. (The fact that we use these reality maps to perceive reality means we will always be wrong.)

Beliefs Imprison you..
Convictions create convicts..
Stop being right or the time and know that you are wrong, so that over time you become less wrong..

http://www.dailygrai...he-Internet-Age

Edited by Professor T, 07 November 2013 - 11:39 PM.

#2    little_dreamer

little_dreamer

Government Agent

• 3,409 posts

• We did not understand it all, but somehow we survived.

Posted 08 November 2013 - 12:59 AM