Welcome to Unexplained Mysteries! Please sign in or create an account to start posting and to access a host of extra features.

- - - - -

Idea about Punt civilisation

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1    Chaldera

Chaldera

Alien Embryo

• Pip
  • 105 posts

• "Don't try to be a great man, just be a man, and let history make its own judgements"

Posted 29 March 2014 - 03:42 PM

Hi everyone. Just a little idea I had about the Punt civilisation...

http://www.en.wikipe...ki/Land_of_Punt

Judging by the fact that the only evidence we have of their existence is through Egyptian artifacts and a potential identification as the land of Put in the  Bible, is it possible that they were merely made up by the Egyptians as a sort of story to show off Egypt's success or as some sort of mythical civilisation which was later incorporated into the Bible by its writers as either some sort of allegory or else as a false belief?

I'll admit, I'm by no means an expert, and expect to be proven wrong. I just wish to learn more

#2    cormac mac airt

cormac mac airt

Non-Corporeal Being

• 7,936 posts

Posted 29 March 2014 - 04:34 PM

View PostChaldera, on 29 March 2014 - 03:42 PM, said:

Judging by the fact that the only evidence we have of their existence is through Egyptian artifacts and a potential identification as the land of Put in the  Bible, is it possible that they were merely made up by the Egyptians as a sort of story to show off Egypt's success or as some sort of mythical civilisation which was later incorporated into the Bible by its writers as either some sort of allegory or else as a false belief?

I'll admit, I'm by no means an expert, and expect to be proven wrong. I just wish to learn more