Welcome to Unexplained Mysteries! Please sign in or create an account to start posting and to access a host of extra features.

- - - - -

Old Windows software - when should I recycle?

microsoft windows

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1    little_dreamer

little_dreamer

Government Agent

• 3,299 posts

• We did not understand it all, but somehow we survived.

Posted 01 July 2014 - 04:26 PM

I have been using Windows since the 1990's.  In the meantime, I have managed to acquire a lot of Windows CD-ROM software, especially from friends and family.

Now I noticed that Windows 8 won't run a lot of these, even if an earlier compatibility mode is set.

Is there a general rule regarding when these programs should be gotten rid of?   There is a business nearby that will recycle the CD-ROMs.

I am another anonymous face in the crowd. I am just another tiny wheel in the machinery of the world I live in.

#2    questionmark

questionmark

Cinicus Magnus

• 35,611 posts

• In a flat world there is an explanation to everything.

Posted 01 July 2014 - 04:31 PM

There is no general rule, just a general trick: have a copy of an older OS and use your old software there. I still have a CP/M system, a OS2 system, a MSDOS system and a Windows 98 system (That has only one real use, my Cakewalk composing program).

If your old software is still useful keep it, if not those CDs make a hell of a mobile to hang on the ceiling.

A skeptic is a well informed believer and a pessimist a well informed optimist
The most dangerous views of the world are from those who have never seen it. ~ Alexander v. Humboldt
If you want to bulls**t me please do it so that it takes me more than a minute to find out

about me

#3    little_dreamer

little_dreamer

Government Agent

• 3,299 posts

Posted 01 July 2014 - 04:36 PM

View Postquestionmark, on 01 July 2014 - 04:31 PM, said: