Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: [Resolved] Virus query
Unexplained Mysteries Discussion Forums > Other > Web Site & Forum News, Updates & Support
Thozzman
Hi all,

I was just alerted through my antivirus software that a virus is present on these forums at the following addy...> http:// www.unexplained-misteries.com/forum/index.php?showforum

Please note that I misspelled "mysteries" in the above address so clicking on it should not be a danger.
But if you re-type the address using the correct spelling for "mysteries", you'll be infected with the following virus.....>uruguay 6/7/8

This forum is the ghosts and paranormal forum...be CAREFUL!!!! mad.gif
MissMelsWell
QUOTE(Thozzman @ Mar 9 2007, 10:01 PM) [snapback]1576085[/snapback]
Hi all,

I was just alerted through my antivirus software that a virus is present on these forums at the following addy...> http:// www.unexplained-misteries.com/forum/index.php?showforum

Please note that I misspelled "mysteries" in the above address so clicking on it should not be a danger.
But if you re-type the address using the correct spelling for "mysteries", you'll be infected with the following virus.....>uruguay 6/7/8

This forum is the ghosts and paranormal forum...be CAREFUL!!!! mad.gif


Here's what I could find about this virus: http://www.symantec.com/security_response/...-070208-3653-99

I haven't checked the page on the forum though... I have to wait until I am on my other laptop that isn't company owned. This is a variant of the Trojan.Billrus.Texto, most people who have anti-virus software should be protected, unless you haven't updated your definitions since 2001. From the brief research I did, it's hard to tell if this can be embedded in a Web page like on this forum (especially through a post).

Did you click a link in the message? Typically it shows up as a .txt file...
chaoszerg
I never got anything when i went on there.
The Silver Thong
QUOTE(chaoszerg @ Mar 10 2007, 01:19 AM) [snapback]1576226[/snapback]
I never got anything when i went on there.


Ya but how many people have been on there tongue.gif you dirty dog you.
Please Explain
The link is like this
http://www.unexplained-mysteries.com/forum...p?showforum=10
On Thozz link there is no 10
Click to view attachment
EmpressStarXVII
Thank you for the heads up!
Please Explain
Thozzman pc might be infected by a virus/spyware.
It only execute when he click that forum.
Please Explain
QUOTE(EmpressStarXVII @ Mar 10 2007, 08:41 AM) [snapback]1576240[/snapback]
Thank you for the heads up!

Not a problem...if i get infected i'll let you know. hahahahahah.
Please Explain
When i mouseover it i get different link now.
Click to view attachment
Lottie
Tiggs just took a look at the page source and cannot see any virus within it.

A suggestion would be you upgrade your anti-virus definitions/ get a new one/ get rid of any spy ware on your pc.

Closed until further notice.
Saru
Just to add, Thozzman i've renamed this thread before you make everyone believe the forum is unsafe to use.

The virus you are saying that this forum is infected with is a virus distributed through an executable file, normally sent via e-mail attachments. It does not infect on-line forums. It is a six year old virus that begins by trying to access your floppy disk drive.

The link you say contains the virus is just the forum's main page with the 'showforum' variable being passed a null value.

I have also checked out everything here and can find absolutely no trace of any viruses on this web site. If the forum really had been compromised then every time someone went to view the forum it would try to download an executable file to your computer. This is not the case.

It's highly likely that your PC is already infected with a virus that has been triggered while you've been browsing the web, your best bet is to run a full anti-virus scan. If you're unable to remove the infection that way, a full reformat may be on the cards.

Just to make this point very clear - there is no virus on the UM forums.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.