Join the Unexplained Mysteries community today! It's free and setting up an account only takes a moment.
- Sign In or Create Account -
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Magnatude

"Asteroid" 1991 VG

5 posts in this topic

Although I prefer to believe that Unidentified Craft are likely time-travelers/extra-dimensional beings/Secret Ops/earthly-origin before saying they are Extraterrestrial...

An interesting bunch of information here to consider:

Jim Scotti Email on his discovery of 1991 VG

Java applet Tracking 1991 VG

Dr Duncan Steel

Dr Steel's PDF file discussing this object

Space.com article (includes 1991 VG)

We should know for sure by Late July 2016.

Asteroid? or Probe?

lol...

Gee I didnt expect this kind of feedback... "crickets"

Guess its just too much reading, not enough pictures.

Doing more research (a few of you know I'm a SF Artist, and currently writing a Graphic novel) on the subject:

An article from the Anomalies Network brings to light some interesting parallels to another "asteroid", 2000 SG344

Nine years after 1991 VG made its close approach to the Earth, another unusual object drifted in from deep space. Discovered on September 29, 2000, by astronomers David Tholen and R. Whiteley at the University of Hawaii, the object was again presumed to be a NEO—an asteroid on a path that occasionally brought it near the Earth.

Catalogued “2000 SG344,” the object approached to within 4,800,000 miles of the Earth, or about 20 times farther away than the distance from the Earth to the Moon. This was nowhere near as close as the approach of 1991 VG, but again not all that far on a celestial scale. The object appeared to be anywhere from 98 to 230 feet in diameter, depending on whether or not it was actually an asteroid and what type of material it was composed of.