Join the Unexplained Mysteries community today! It's free and setting up an account only takes a moment.
- Sign In or Create Account -
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Waspie_Dwarf

Shenzhou-9 docks with Tiangong-1

5 posts in this topic

Shenzhou-9 docks with Tiangong-1

China's Shenzhou-9 capsule, with its crew of three, has docked with the Tiangong-1 space lab.

The coupling of the vehicles occurred just after 14:00 Beijing time (06:00 GMT; 07:00 BST) over China itself.

The latest Shenzhou mission was launched on Saturday, taking the nation's first female astronaut into orbit.

Thirty-three-year old Liu Yang flies with Commander Jing Haipeng, 46, and fellow flight engineer, Liu Wang, 42.

It is China's fourth manned mission and another opportunity to see how far the Asian nation has developed its space technology.

arrow3.gifRead more...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)

Chinese astronauts open door on orbiting research lab

Flying on autopilot with three astronauts on-board, China's Shenzhou 9 spacecraft glided to a smooth docking with the Tiangong 1 space lab Monday, forming a small-scale space station 200 miles above Earth.

Jing Haipeng, Shenzhou 9's veteran commander, was first to enter the laboratory module about three hours after the two vehicles docked at 0607 GMT (2:07 a.m. EDT; 2:07 p.m. Beijing time).

arrow3.gifRead more...

Edited by Waspie_Dwarf

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Great post Waspie !

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A mission to be proud of so far for China looking forward to a great successful mission to come.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

With the amount of expendable resources I imagine China will have in the future, it's great to see they are investing in space.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.