Join the Unexplained Mysteries community today! It's free and setting up an account only takes a moment.
- Sign In or Create Account -
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 1
pantodragon

The OED and the mad man

9 posts in this topic

I have just finished reading “The Professor and the Madman” by Simon Winchester. The book yielded some interesting things, upon which I comment below.

The book (non-fiction) describes the creation of the Oxford English Dictionary (OED) in the latter half of the 19th century, with particular reference to two of the main players: Professor James Murray who took on the job of creating the dictionary and Dr Minor who became one of its major contributors. Murray, something of a self-taught polymath with a bent for language, was a Scot from the Borders. Dr Minor, the “madman” of the title, was an American medical doctor who had served as a surgeon in the Civil War. After the war, Minor had moved to London. There he committed a murder, was categorised as criminally insane, and banged up in Broadmoor Asylum for the last half of his life. It was from Broadmoor that he contributed to the making of the OED. The book, therefore, is not only an account of the creation of the OED, but contains a brief history of the treatment of mental illness from Victorian times.

I had to skim-read much of the book for there was simply too much trivial, extraneous detail. The book could, and should, have been a quarter of the length. But books today are getting longer and longer and longer, while simultaneously saying less and less and less…………...