Join the Unexplained Mysteries community today! It's free and setting up an account only takes a moment.
- Sign In or Create Account -
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 2
Codemonger

Will SETI ultimately fail ?

35 posts in this topic

I am no expert when it comes to SETI, but when it comes to digital communication I do know a couple of things and this is something that has been bugging me for a long time. Has anyone thought that if an ET civilization is broadcasting signals that the signal would probably be advanced enough to be an encrypted digital transmission and would lose any integrity of being recognized as a raw message. An encrypted communication signal, sent through radio or not, from point A to B looks identical to white noise.

I believe SETI may ultimately fail because of this oversight. Is SETI thinking too primitive or am I completely wrong ?

1 person likes this

Yep, I think that is a known problem. They are looking for basic radiowaves, fornwhat was us a fairly narrow gap of time.

They recognize the limits of the plan, especially since they are only able search a small section of the sky at any given time.

I think SETI was doomed to failure from the start.

We set out with the assumption that other beings are going to use radio waves, record players and the like in order to communicate and it seems we are still operating under that assumption.

So..No, Codemonger. I don't think you are wrong at all.

1 person likes this

I respectfully disagree; the assumption behind SETI is that there are societies who want us to know about them. Therefore they would make it easy. That nothing has been found tells me only that no such society is anywhere nearby.

I used to belong to SETI AT Home. Since I changed computers I haven't participated. It's pretty cool, though.