Join the Unexplained Mysteries community today! It's free and setting up an account only takes a moment.
- Sign In or Create Account -

Chemical imperialism and the edict of carbon

Kelvena

The last humanities course I took was an introduction to philosophy, I took it way back when I thought I was going to be an engineer. In this wonderful course I was introduced to the writings of a number of philosophers, among them Bertrand Russell. I encountered his hypothesis of chemical imperialism and decided to expand upon it. This essay is the result. If this comes off as arrogant, I apologize; I’ve matured a good bit since I wrote this. I’d also like to note that this is arm chair philosophy and theoretical chemistry. I’m not an expert in either field and as such I may have made an error or two. Feel free to correct me if you wish.

Chemical imperialism and the edict of carbon.

What is chemical imperialism? It is the need for matter to assimilate other matter into itself. The octet rule, remember? An atom wants to have eight electrons within its valence shell, right? Well as a side effect sometimes an atom gains a negative charge, or the atom that lost the electron(s) is left with a positive charge. Other times atoms have to share electrons. These actions in turn produce even more side effects: cations are attracted to anions thus we have ionic bonds, atoms which are forced to share electrons become covalent (covalent aren’t perfectly neutral, polar covalent bonds: water anyone?) from this we have the entire cacophony that makes up the awesome orchestra that some would label ‘creation’.

Some atoms can’t easily be satisfied due to the level of positive or negative charges within them. Some form incredibly complex polar covalent bonds, large chains… seigoy. One such atom is particularly expert at doing this: carbon, to carbon we are all bound slave to its ever-enduring will.

The edict of carbon

Thou will collect all substances unto me.