Join the Unexplained Mysteries community today! It's free and setting up an account only takes a moment.
- Sign In or Create Account -

All Activity

This stream auto-updates     

1. Past hour
  2. I believe that the only real reason to attend college (and I graduated) is to find out how to do research and look things up. I OJT'd as a civil engineering tech and ended up knowing more about structural design and materials than my Masters degree boss - I did the math and he signed it. Of course he inherited the business from his father who was old school and really knew the field - I learned a lot from the old guy. I also learned land surveying the same way (8 yrs OJT), passed the state test designed for college grads and was licensed to practice. I was never a great math student in school but I had a burning desire to learn and was successful in the long run and ended up owning my own survey company.
  3. I don't believe you

This I fully get. Mindset plays a major part in all this. Many theist can't see an atheist point of views. Some atheist can not understand a theist perspective, agnostic really just don't know either way (probably the best stance). Agnosticism in my eyes is an either-or stance. Balanced. It's not directly assuming a yes or no answer, but a open curiosity towards either direction. Apatheist is not worrying about it. Yet each of these ideas cultivate it's own mindset. A model of reality. What I've noticed is that those who believe in ghost "see more ghost", because they are looking for them and the mind will fabricate them. It's the same thing that allows people to see "god" in everything.
  4. I don't believe you

None for me either when I started studying the Taoist teachings in Tendai and stopped believing in spirits.
  5. I don't believe you