Jump to content
Unexplained-Mysteries.com uses cookies. By using this site you consent to our use of cookies as per our Cookie Policy.

I Accept

Join the Unexplained Mysteries community today! It's free and setting up an account only takes a moment.
- Sign In or Create Account -
Naveed

What are you reading?

1,771 posts in this topic

Recommended Posts

kmt_sesh
2 hours ago, susieice said:

It sure does kmt. I can't wait !

I'm on a Lincoln Child roll catching up with books I couldn't find before. Just finishing up Thunderhead and then I'll start. I didn't realize Jeremy Logan was also a series. I had read Third Gate and didn't connect the name with Full Wolf Moon when I read it. Read The Forgotten Room later and did connect but there were two earlier ones.

I love reading what they write, together and separately.

I agree, all of their books are good. I believe I have read all of them, the joint works and the independent efforts. I really like the Jeremy Logan stories. And I was really enjoying the Gideon Crew books until this last and final one, which was still a good read but not on par with earlier efforts.

But nothing beats good ol' Pendergast. I've been reading them in order again, too. Right now I'm in the middle of the Helen Pendergast saga.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
 
susieice
39 minutes ago, kmt_sesh said:

I agree, all of their books are good. I believe I have read all of them, the joint works and the independent efforts. I really like the Jeremy Logan stories. And I was really enjoying the Gideon Crew books until this last and final one, which was still a good read but not on par with earlier efforts.

But nothing beats good ol' Pendergast. I've been reading them in order again, too. Right now I'm in the middle of the Helen Pendergast saga.

I agree. The Pharaoh Key needs a sequel. I'm dying to know what they found in that temple. Gideon's buddy is chief now. This is like the Ice Limit. It needs to be revisited. I don't think they'll kill off Gideon yet.

Pendergast is just the best! Ever!! 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
rashore

Been working through some freebie bag books. I read through them at work on breaks.

Just finished this one: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2529447.Worldstone

It was light and fun. Interesting play with the hand-power and mind-power concepts. Looked up the author after reading and there are a couple other books in the series, but the others weren't in the free book bag.

Just cracked open Blood Crazy by Simon Clark yesterday afternoon. https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/906024.Blood_Crazy

Only about 35 pages in, written in first person perspective so far. A person sitting down and writing up an account of what's been happening since the opener.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
quiXilver

Few weeks back I took my time with Robert Saltzman's The Ten Thousand Things.   woof!   Not many books come along often that feel that close to home.

The many potent and stunningly simple manners he has of describing his various realizations will be percolating for some time.  It was like he had reached into my mind and recalled much of my own path in his sharing.  I'm still stunned.

 

I also burned through a couple books last weekend on the history of the Sami Nomadic/Tribal people (Northern Scandanavia), which I am related to on my Father's side.  They recently won a long standing legal struggle in Swedish courts that goes a long way toward granting acknowledgement of their ways, lands and identities as their own people.

 

And spent a powerful afternoon reading the Five Levels of Attachment.  Follow up book to The Four Agreements.  Toltec Wisdom in all its powerful simplicity. 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
rashore

Finished Blood Crazy last night. Started out as more of a teenagers face the apocalypse of adult crazy that was still involved enough to keep reading. It’s in first person, and by the time the storyteller is through the whole story gets turned on end in some interesting ways I didn’t expect. Gets onto some mind trip notions and a bit of evolution of human species by the time the book is done. It was good enough that it will get put back on the shelf for now and I would recommend it to folks that are into the genre. 

 

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
quiXilver

I'll be spending the next few months working with a half dozen books on the elder Futhark Runes and the Havamal.  I've been drawn to carry my set with me daily; even though I've no impulse to actively consult them for input, I'm drawn to carry them and have them close and handle them on occasion.  I've also been keying in on branches that seem to be offering themselves on trees.  Might be making another set in the near future.

 

Mostly though, I'm drawn to delve into considering them again, each in their own right, distinctly with no dead line, or hurry.  I've got a month or so off at the end of the year and I'm really anticipating spending time reinvestigating the notions of their origins, the many interpretations of those who've written of their experiences and my own insights as I spend time in silence and contemplation with them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Orphalesion
On 8/13/2018 at 11:40 AM, ouija ouija said:

I couldn't get on with them either; mainly for the reasons you mention. But I did enjoy the television series, many years ago. I guess they are the exception that proves the rule 'books are better than the films made of them'.

Hey, just wanted to come back to this. I have managed to track down the series and finished watching it.

And yeop, it's not perfect (the Castle is a bit too bright when compared to the book, imho) but it's really a huge improvement over the books. Now I finally know how the story ends.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
susieice

I'm re-reading Keith Richards, Life at the moment and impatiently waiting for my copy of Verses For The Dead to get here. Love Preston and Child.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
kmt_sesh

I'm reading the new Preston and Child, Verses for the Dead, the latest Agent Pendergast adventure. Not only is Pendergast in Miami, he's been forced to take on a partner: Special Agent Coldmoon. There's nothing like a Pendergast novel. ;)

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
susieice
44 minutes ago, kmt_sesh said:

I'm reading the new Preston and Child, Verses for the Dead, the latest Agent Pendergast adventure. Not only is Pendergast in Miami, he's been forced to take on a partner: Special Agent Coldmoon. There's nothing like a Pendergast novel. ;)

I heard it's really good. I ordered mine but it hasn't gotten here yet. I hope it hurries! 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
kmt_sesh
26 minutes ago, susieice said:

I heard it's really good. I ordered mine but it hasn't gotten here yet. I hope it hurries! 

They moved up the publishing date somewhat. So the day it came out I grabbed a copy. :D

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Pettytalk

I'm reading everyone's mind, and I don't mind what I read. I'm also reading Morton White, The Age of Analysis.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Pettytalk

Reading the English translation of Montaigne's Apology for Raymond Sebond.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
susieice

Yes!! It's here!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Pettytalk

Currently reading; The Career of Philosophy, Vol 1  'from the Middle Ages to the Enlightenment' by John Herman Randall, Jr

The gist I'm taking so far from the read, is that philosophy has been shamed, scorned, raped, and made into something that it is not by modern standards and understanding. Today philosophy is reflective of what it was never meant to be, as true philosophy was meant to be absolute truth. Today it's made into a fad, something anyone can make it to be what one wishes, as she has become the measure of mankind's whimsies and a fashionable apparel that is personally worn to keep up with the Jones and the times. True philosophy is being compromised by opinions that are taken as facts, and applied to make ends meet. Personal needs and ends towards materialism, showing off the false glitter which is not gold. True philosophy is golden, truly. 

The career of true philosophers is one that results in the acquisition of ridicule, scorn, rejection, and for those few really true and uncompromising philosophers, death! As true philosophy is the practice of dying, and the willingness to never compromise the truth. Truth, when compromised by opinion, is the death of truth. Only lies live on, and rarely, a correct opinion that may be a shadow of truth.

Wrong opinions go on living as pretenders of truth, immortally bound to ignorance.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Pettytalk

Reading science fiction, a later works of Robert Heinlein, The Cat Who Walks and talks "Through" Walls. Which is considered as a sequel to his Number of the Beast novel. 

The Book's background, as given on the internet.

During a meeting of the Council of the Time Scouts, representatives from every major time line and setting written by Heinlein appear, including Glory Road, and Starship Troopers, and references are made to other authors' works as well. The title of the book refers to a cat by the name of Pixel, who has an inexplicable tendency to be wherever the narrator happens to be. In one scene Pixel does, in fact, walk through a wall, and it is explained that Pixel is too young to know that such behavior is impossible.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Oniomancer

Currently reading Catacombs, by John Ferris, an adventure thriller in the tradition of Cussler and Crichton involving a politically earth-shattering ancient archeological find in the depths of Mt. Kilimanjaro.  A bit dated since it's set in the middle of the cold war and apartheid and I was horrified to see it mentioning famous ooparts casually in connection with an ancient civilization as if they were established facts.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Pettytalk

Reading, For the New Intellectual by Ayn Rand

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Pettytalk

With all this talk on the news about Trump wanting to instate emergency measures for the USA, due to his childish whimsies of getting a wall at all costs, I felt a need to reread Nietzsche's "Thus Spake Zarathustra."

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Cat_From_Hell

I used to be a real book worm but I haven't read a book for years, I was in HMV and they had a 2 books for £5.00 offer so I picked up The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton and Eleanor Oliphant is completely fine by Gail Honeyman.

Loved them both, took me 2 days to read them both, I love reading again now! This thread will keep me awake most of the night I expect.

Think Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman is next on my list, I love him.

Edited by Cat_From_Hell

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.