Join the Unexplained Mysteries community today! It's free and setting up an account only takes a moment.
- Sign In or Create Account -

Doggerland

Sceptical believer

this topic got brought up in the noah thread, and I felt like it deserved its own. its an interesting topic and one that touches on research Ive been conducting for several years.

God, so I must copy and paste all I posted in that thread.

• Like 1
  • Haha 2

And why the subtitle "not Atlantis"? Who cares about Atlantis?

This is the real thing.

just hoping to keep it from being turned into if doggerland existed then atlantis had to have existed thread.

Im thinking that the sea level rise research I have is 1. making a conclusion based on a world wide average. and 2. the slide data might not have been available at the time of the study.

either way doesn't matter to me. the newest research just gets added into what I have and theory's get changed.

Edited by Sceptical believer

OK, I will try to copy and paste what I posted in the Noah thread, just to have all the info nicely tucked together..

Posted 03 October 2009 - 03:46 PM

I said:

Personally, I think it's rather strange that - as far as I know - there are no flood legends from countries around the North Sea, originating from the Storrega Slide.

Maybe it's because there were not enough people around, but I am conivinced that the huge tsuanami that whiped 'Doggerland' from the map would have had a lasting impact on the minds of any people surviving in the countries surrounding the present North Sea.

03 October 2009 - 04:12 PM

questionmark, on 03 October 2009 - 03:52 PM, said:

There was very little settlement in the lower lands of Germany/Denmark/Holland in prehistoric times, mostly because it was more a swamp than dry land. Most of the North sea settlements happened along the hill ridges hundreds of miles away from the sea. So most of whatever happened there was witnessed by hardly a soul.