Join the Unexplained Mysteries community today! It's free and setting up an account only takes a moment.
- Sign In or Create Account -

Atheist looking for Spiritual Path

Doctor Night

Hi everyone! I just joined the board. I come to you with a question that bothers me so very badly. I am hoping that some of you will help me work some things out. Thanks in advance to anyone who contributes. I will really appreciate it!

I am exploring spirituality. I have rejected more traditional religions and have, up until now, considered myself to be an atheist. I do not and will not believe in the tribal gods of the 'holy books',( I studied Christianity for many years) but I am thinking there might be some other system of belief that may make sense to me. I condemn no one at all for what they believe. If any religion helps someone to make it on this earth, I fully appreciate this, as long as it does not hurt anyone.

Here is the thing that I find so difficult to come to terms with while I am exploring spirituality. While I long to believe in something spiritual, for the life of me, I cannot figure out why we must have all the suffering we do on earth. When I think as an atheist, it is an easy answer, we are evolving (conscious) animals and the world is still in a mess because of the fact that we are still evolving.

I have dabbled in all kinds of spiritual theories as well as looking into, as I am able, physics that show us we are made from stardust and all the elements contained within the universe. I love the 'plank' theories. I read from some sources that we are 'light'. I love to read of NDEs, OBEs, reincarnation, etc. Even as an atheist, I find some of the theories fascinating.