Join the Unexplained Mysteries community today! It's free and setting up an account only takes a moment.
- Sign In or Create Account -

What truly exists?

keithisco

This goes to the heart of many questions surrounding received scientific "truths"...

ARE you ever tempted to ask whether entities such as electrons, black holes or the Higgs particle really exist? As a chemist, I worry about what is real and dependable in my field. Is it the "entities" or the "theories" of chemistry and quantum mechanics that largely explain the periodic table? I also care because all of this goes to the heart of an old, important - and unresolved - debate about how to regard scientific discoveries.

Makes for an interesting debate between scientific realism and anti-realism.

Read More, courtesy New Scientist: http://www.newscientist.com/article/mg21628920.200-what-truly-exists-structure-as-a-route-to-the-real.html?full=true#.UwZMamJ5PeI

• Like 1

nothing exists we are all in cryogenic sleep, just our thoughts make the virtual world to go on

Perhaps we're ripped between existence and a more abstract realm, experiencing flashes of both realms.

We can measure (quantify) the energy required or released in a chemical reaction. We know the constitutent elements of that reaction, and so we can predict the structure of those elements.

It doesn't matter what you call that structure - whether you stick to the convention of "electrons, protons, etc" - or use the names of flavours of ice cream, that structure exists and, because it can be measured and quantified, is as the Standard Model describes.

What is real, is real. What exists, exists.

You can debate what we name it and you can debate whether our perception is being 'fooled', but neither case makes any difference to what is.

• Like 1