Join the Unexplained Mysteries community today! It's free and setting up an account only takes a moment.
- Sign In or Create Account -

Abu Dhabi firm to tow iceberg to the UAE

UM-Bot

I have no real idea about this question; they mention practicality and feasibility regarding harvesting water, but is it really practical/feasible to tow sizeble icebergs away from where they naturally occur?

I feel that it's another one of those things which may not seem like an issue, and seems like a good idea at the time, but is ultimately a very bad idea. 

Again, I have very little technical knowledge of what I'm asking, so I'd love to hear from anyone with a more solid understanding. 

My goodness- if they are using 80% more water on average, maybe the answer is to cut back a bit on the water use rather than try towing an iceberg halfway around the world.

• Like 2

Just now, rashore said:

My goodness- if they are using 80% more water on average, maybe the answer is to cut back a bit on the water use rather than try towing an iceberg halfway around the world.

They are also using a 100% more on slaves than most people.

Every time there's a water shortage somewhere, someone brings up this idea.

• Like 1

UAE is somewhere along the equator. Surely the person who suggested the idea never have an icecream before?

• Like 2

2 hours ago, geraldnewfie said:

stop wasting so much water on fountains, cleaning their cars, pools etc

Yep gotta agree with you

How far into the journey would they get before it starts melting? And every bit closer to home they get, every bit hotter it gets. It wouldn't surprise me if less than half of it survived the journey should this be attempted.

I wonder how they would get the iceburg into water tanks if they could get it there? I think they are going after the big one thats getting ready to come off. Sorry, no time to look up which one, name at the moment.