Join the Unexplained Mysteries community today! It's free and setting up an account only takes a moment.
- Sign In or Create Account -
Sign in to follow this  
littlestar

'The Gray'?

27 posts in this topic

littlestar

Two days ago was my last day of employment at a large supermarket where I worked as a cashier (my new job starts this upcoming week!). During my last few hours on the job, I saw a man who was gray.

He came through my line with some groceries and I noticed him as I was giving a receipt to the customer whose order I was finishing up--seeing him really struck me. His complexion was gray, and at first I thought maybe he was homeless or on hard times and the gray was an accumulation of dirt or soot or something like that on him. But as I said hello to him and started to bag his groceries, (trying not to stare at him because I didn't want to be rude) I found that it really was simply his complexion, as if his skin had once been a warm, light brown and had somehow grayed. He also had graying hair but the very top of it was a coppery red. He was silent during our interaction. 

When I was riding the bus home that night, I pulled out my phone and tried to look up what might cause someone's skin to turn gray. There are things like prolonged exposure to chemicals that do this, but all of the example images and people afflicted by that sort of thing had a strong blue tone to the gray of their skin, which wasn't what I saw.