Join the Unexplained Mysteries community today! It's free and setting up an account only takes a moment.
- Sign In or Create Account -
Sign in to follow this  
acute

Question about Casting Video to TV

59 posts in this topic

acute

I'm pretty clueless about Casting, because I've never done it before, so any help would be appreciated. I don't even know if it's possible!

Anyway, here's what I've got:

An Android phone with a Cast feature.

A non-Smart TV with HDMI ports, RGB inputs, phono, etc.

No WiFi.  Mobile data only.

Any ideas?

zep73

AFAIK you need a device that can pick up the WiFi signal and show the content on the TV. Chromecast can do that, but it's gonna cost you about 30£. Good luck.

• Like 1

acute
2 minutes ago, zep73 said:

Good luck.

Thanks. :tu:

Like I said..... I don't have WiFi.

zep73
Just now, acute said:

Thanks. :tu:

Like I said..... I don't have WiFi.

Well, your phone does, and that should be enough (AFAIK)...

seanjo
47 minutes ago, acute said:

I'm pretty clueless about Casting, because I've never done it before, so any help would be appreciated. I don't even know if it's possible!

Anyway, here's what I've got:

An Android phone with a Cast feature.

A non-Smart TV with HDMI ports, RGB inputs, phono, etc.

No WiFi.  Mobile data only.

Any ideas?

You can't cast but you could get a cable to connect to the phone port and the TV HDMI port and get a picture that way.

• Like 1

seanjo
23 minutes ago, zep73 said:

Well, your phone does, and that should be enough (AFAIK)...

If the TV has wi-fi...

• Like 1

zep73
1 minute ago, seanjo said:

If the TV has wi-fi...

The Chromecast does, so the TV doesn't need to.

• Like 1
  • Confused 1

acute
1 minute ago, seanjo said:

You can't cast but you could get a cable to connect to the phone port and the TV HDMI port and get a picture that way.

Would that be USB-C to HDMI?

Then what would I do?